The Early Years Foundation Stage 1

Welcome to Nursery!

St Theresa’s Nursery is a 26 place Nursery offering morning or afternoon sessions. We also offer 30 hours FEL for working parents who are eligible.

Our sessions run from 8.30-11.30 am and 12.20-3.05 pm. Those children who are entitled to a 30 hour place are asked to bring a packed lunch. We ask for 50p per week to cover the cost of snacks, baking etc and £1 per week for those children who stay all day.

There is a separate entrance for Nursery.

Nursery Application Form

30 Hours Info for Parents


St Theresa’s Early Years Foundation Stage provides a broad and balanced curriculum for children aged 3-5+.

In the EYFS there are seven areas of learning and development.

The three prime areas are;

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development,
  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development.

The four specific areas are:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design.

At St Theresa’s we consider the individual needs, interests and stage of development of each child and use this information to plan a challenging and enjoyable experience for each child in all of the areas  of learning and development. Each area of learning is implemented through planned, purposeful play and through a mix of adult-led and child-initiated activity.  We have a fantastic outdoor area that the children can access freely alongside a range of indoor provision.

Each child’s level of development is assessed against the Early Learning Goals at the end of Reception and parents are informed as to whether their child is meeting the expected levels of development, or if they are exceeding expected levels or not yet reaching them (emerging). This forms the basis of the EYFS Profile.

Click here fore more information about the EYFS curriculum.

We follow the Catholic Curriculum for Religious Education following the Come and See scheme.


This term we have been learning about wild animals and went on a trip to The Yorkshire Wildlife Park.

See some of our photos below to see what we got up to!